Parenting – I’ve got this!

Rewind to the year 2000:  “Married life is so easy and grand.  We’ve been married 2 years so we have it all figured out now – let’s start a family.  I know people says it’s hard, but it won’t be for me.  I’m sure that my 21 years of life have taught me eeeeeverything I need to know to keep it together and raise wealthy, successful children.  These complaining parents with their money woes and teenage drama – what do they know?  They OBVIOUSLY just don’t know how to do this right!  I’ll show them all!!!!!”

 2001:  “Need sleep . . . can’t function . . . am I wearing clean underwear . . . how did I get to work today . . . did someone say chocolate . . . “

 2002:  “Oh my God I’m gonna have ANOTHER one!!!  I haven’t even figured out how to get the first one to fall asleep at night – what am I going to do with two of them???  What if I lose one because I can’t keep up with two?  What if someone sees the amount of crumbs on my floor and dirty laundry that I don’t have time to wash and decides to have the new baby taken from me at the hospital?  Oh gosh, I wonder if I can ask them to do that?  Okay, no, that’s a bad thought – scratch that!  Deep breath . . . . this is still easy – I’ll just potty train Brooke at 18 months so I can avoid having two kids in diapers.  I mean how hard can it be?  Brooke, meet the potty.  Potty, meet Brooke.  Done.  This will be a breeze – people who complain of potty training problems just don’t know what they’re doing!  And I’m sure that baby #2 will sleep through the night at two weeks and will be an absolute dream.  I’ll get a solid 8 hours of sleep every night and wake each day refreshed and renewed and still manage to have it all together.  Wait, I don’t have it all together now – how in the world could I even think of having it all together in 9 months!  Resume panic!!!!”

Back to reality:  Nine years ago, I thought the world wouldn’t ever be the same – and I was right!  Those years have brought tears, laughter, joy, pain, growth, mistakes, reward, heartache, and most of all the best years of my life!  I’ve learned to love my husband for reasons I didn’t know existed, learned that life is hard because the rewards are worth it, and that I wasn’t supposed to know everything that I needed back then – I had to figure it out as I went along.  I’ve actually had people tell me that they think I’m a great wife and mother (people other than those who are supposed to tell me those kinds of things!).  As much as I treasure the compliment, it humbles me because I know how far I really fall from living up to it!  Sure, from the outside looking in, I can seem at times to have it all together – but we can all do that!  It’s the things that happen daily inside my home that tell the real story.  The times when the day has been too long and the kids talk non-stop on the way home and I know that supper and laundry need to be done when I get there but all I want to do is go to bed . . . Times when one of the kids are telling me something really important about their day, but I don’t hear it because I’m selfishly tuning them out. . . Other times when I know that there are a million things to be done around the house, but I sit on my butt in the recliner typing a blog post . . . LOL!!!  Just to name a few!  So, to help gauge how I’m really doing in the parenting department, I created a little interview for my kids about their views on life in the present and future.  It’s really short – 11 or 12 questions each – and they were interviewed individually and instructed to be totally honest and really think about their answers.  (I also told them that they would not be punished if the answer hurt my feelings – just to be honest.  LOL!!!)  The results aren’t as funny as I expected them to be, but overall I think they are on the right track.  Oh, and I snapped the pics outside real quick while they were playing – sweat, muddy knees and all.  Enjoy . . .

 BROOKE’S INTERVIEW:

Me:  “Why do you think your parents try and make sure that you do well and make good grades in school?”

Brooke:  “Because they want me to go to have a good college plan.”

Me:  “Do you think that school and education are the most important things in your life?”

Brooke:  “Yeah, kind of”

Me:  “Why?”

Brooke:  “Because if I didn’t have an education, I wouldn’t be as smart as I am now.”

Me:  “What in your life right now do you think is unfair?”

Brooke:  “That’s a hard one.  Does it have to be about me?”

Me:  “Well, it has to be about your life.”

Brooke:  “Oh, I get it.  When Bo hits me and I can’t hit him back.”

Me:  “Why can’t you hit him back?”

Brooke:  “Because you tell me not to, and to just come talk to you.”

Me:  “Do you think that going to college is important and why?”

Brooke:  “Yes, because you can get a better job.”

Me:  “What is it that you hope to learn about in college and what job do you want to have after college?”

Brooke:  “A fashion designer.”

Me:  “What kind of car do you want to drive when you’re older?”

Brooke:  “A silver car like Nanny’s blue car.”  (An Acura TSX)

Me:  “When and where do you think that you will meet the person that you’re going to marry?”

Brooke:  “At college.”

Me:  “How old do you think a person should be before they get married?”

Brooke:  “21”

Me:  “Is there anything about mine and dad’s relationship that you hope to have when you get married?”

Brooke:  “Going on vacations every year.”

Me:  “If you could change one thing about your life, what would it be?”

Brooke:  “My room being upstairs.”

Me:  “What do you think is the biggest problem in the world today?”

Brooke:  “Animal abuse.  I don’t like it.”

 

BO’S INTERVIEW:

Me:  “Do you think it’s important to make good grades in school?  Why or why not?”

Bo:  “Yeah, because if you get too many bad grades, you get held back.”

Me:  “Do you think that being in gifted is cool?”

Bo:  “Yes, because you get to build a 3D house out of popsicle sticks and do fun things.”

Me:  “What is your absolute favorite thing to do?”

Bo:  “Play video games.”

Me:  “Do you want to go to college after you graduate high school?”

Bo:  “Yes.”

Me:  “What do you want to learn to be in college?”

Bo:  “A mechanic.”

Me:  “When you become a grown-up and don’t have to do what your parents tell you to do, what is the first thing you want to do?”

Bo:  “Go shopping.”

Me:  “To buy what?”

Bo:  “Probably basketballs, footballs, baseballs, and stuff like that.”

Me:  “What thing or things about your dad do you hope to be like when you grow up?”

Bo:  “Strong, tall, and fast.”

Me:  “How old do you think a person should be before they get married?”

Bo:  “20”

Me:  “If you could change one thing about your life, what would it be?”

Bo:  “I wish I was stronger.”

Me:  “What do you think is the biggest problem in the world today?”

Bo:  “People are cutting down trees by Ms. Meghan’s.”

 Long story short – Brooke wishes she could hit her brother back, wants her bedroom to be upstairs, and dislikes animal cruelty.  And Bo (I swear he really is in gifted) wants to go to college to be a mechanic and be able to buy sporting equipment.  So people please stop cutting down the trees by Ms. Meghan’s house, and while you’re at it pass the chocolate!!!!!

Published in: on June 14, 2011 at 6:30 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://passthechocolateplease.wordpress.com/2011/06/14/parenting-ive-got-this/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sitting here with BIG OLE TEARS in my eyes…..as I read your current blog…..feeling the SAME WAY you did!! It seems LIKE YESTERDAY…. I can SOOO RELATE! Not knowing IF I could be a good parent….STILL don’t know….am I doing ANYTHING right?? Why don’t my kids listen?? Why do my parents always insist I need to do it this way?? Will my kids even BE SUCCESSFUL?? ALL the worries of our world today……..Mel, pass me some CHOCOLATE, PLEASE!!!!

    • Yes indeed Sheri! These are some big shoulders we have to have – thankfully we have both been blessed with some amazing kids and they make us look like we’re doing something right! LOL!


Leave a Reply

