New Year, New . . . . . . Me????

Well, another year has come and gone.  Did you meet that goal you set January 1, 2012?  Do you even remember what it was?  I can honestly say that I have no clue what I resolved to do/accomplish/be at the beginning of the year.  All I know is that I survived it and somehow still have the respect of more than half of my friends and family.  Yes, I will consider that a succss!

So, instead of making a single major resolution for this coming year, I’m going to blog a list (oh how I do love my lists) of things I hope to achieve in 2013.  Here they are in no particular order:

1.  Run my first marathon (planned for 1/20/2013) and cross the finish line without poop in my pants.  Don’t laugh – I am dead serious!  Oh, and also that I’ll be able to walk normally by the third day following the race.

2.  Have my new wrinkle cream make me look more youthful before my 34th birthday – which is in 23 days people so go buy me some chocolate!

3.  Update my blog more often.  (You’re snickering aren’t you?  That’s not nice – I’m a busy woman!)

4.  Complete at least 5 pinterest projects that I’ve decided will make my life more fulfilled and Stepford-ish.

5.  Overcome my Coca-Cola addiction.  Although, it’s more likely that I will just replace it with a coffee addiction since I got a fancy shmancy Keurig for Christmas – shout out to the hubs who is the best gift giver EVER!!!!

6.  Become less of a Label Ho.  My hopes aren’t very high on this one – I love my Coach, Michael Kors, M-A-C, Brooks, Under Armour, Victoria’s Secret, Tory Burch, Apple . . . I could go on and on.  I probably should just remove this one all together but I’ve already typed it and it makes my list look longer.  (Just in case I didn’t make it any clearer – I in no way intend to actually stop being a Label Ho – I just feel more wholesome pretending that it’s a real resolution)

7.  Run at least one race every month of this year.  I ran 6 this past year, and placed in the top 3 of my age group in 3 of them.  Yes.  That was a brag.  I acknowledge that were I one age bracket younger I would have had my rump kicked – I don’t care.  Eat my medals you twenty-somethings!

8.  Oh, and this isn’t really a resolution, but I realized that I forgot to note that I ran a half marathon last month.  My finish time was 2 hours and 6 minutes.  (I walked with a limp for a solid week – thus resolution #1)  Whoop Whoop!

But I digress . . .

9.  Be a better housewife.  And by “be better” I mean things like:  Only leave laundry folded on the sofa 1 day before putting it away; Cook a hot meal at least 3 times a week; Clean toilets more often than just before company comes over; and regularly check the pantry/fridge for expired items to be thrown away.  That last one may seem like a no-brainer, but you would be surprised at how long mustard looks and smells good when it’s actually been expired for over a year.  True story.

10.  For every 3 chick lit books that I read, I will read 1 book of mentally stimulating substance.  First on the list is “Fit or Fat”, and that’s because I’ve been curious about it since watching the movie Clueless in 1996.  If Cher Horowitz read it, then I think it’s worth checking out!

11.  Wear my hair in a pony tail no more than twice a week.  I’m talking about the lazy kind that makes me look like a biker, not the cute bouffant type – those are adorable and classy.

12.  Wait a minimum of 3-5 seconds before speaking a thought that pops into my head.  My hope is that a lot less “foot in mouth” moments will happen in the coming year!

I think a dozen is a nice, healthy dose of resolving for 2013.  I don’t want to set the standards too high, know what I mean?  To finish this post, I’ll give a 2012 re-cap in pictures!  Happy New Year to all of you, and thank you SO MUCH for reading my blog this year.  As I said above, I will honestly try not to leave you hanging this year.  If I fail at this, you have my permission to withhold the chocolate.  Who am I kidding – you mess with my chocolate and someone is gonna die.  So pass that chocolate please – Laissez les bons temps rouler in 2013!  (For some strange reason, the pictures uploaded in reverse date order, so it’s kinda like going back in time.  A little.  Okay, maybe not but just go with it because I’m not starting over!)

81

80

79

78

77

76

75

74

73

72

71

70

69

68

67

66

65

64

63

62

61

60

59

58

57

56

55

54

53

52

51

50

49

48

47

46

45

44

43

42

41

40

39

38

37

36

35

34

33

32

31

30

29

28

27

26

25

24

???????????????????????????????

22_2

21

20

19

18

17_2

16

15

14_2

13

12

11

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

6_2

5

4_2

3_2

2_2

And I’ll leave you with this last picture of me in my pajamas at 10pm on New Year’s Eve typing a blog post instead of partying like a rock star.  And rest assured I will be fast asleep well before the ball drops!  I believe the last New Year’s Eve midnight I saw was Y2K – had to make sure the world didn’t stop turning.  Good night blog world!

82

Oh wait, one last thing – I added another resolution:

13.  I will get the hubby to take more pictures with me!  Okay so maybe I should have him make that one of his resolutions???  Hmmm . . . I’ll get on that.  Thankfully, I’m vain enough to have enough pictures of myself to make my “year in review” slideshow obnoxiously long!  Cheers!

 

Published in: on January 1, 2013 at 12:43 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://passthechocolateplease.wordpress.com/2013/01/01/new-year-new-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Best post ever! And I’m not just saying that because I’m pictured a few times, but that helped 🙂


Leave a Reply

